The Latest from the Student Life Center

August 25, 2009

Last night I went over to the SLC for the first time since school started. I figured first day – work out. What I saw surprised me. At about 8 p.m. I could hardly get into the building. There were people EVERYWHERE.  It’s probably the equivalent of a new year’s resolution in many peoples’ minds.

This surprised me a little bit, but not nearly as much as what I found in the fitness center. If you’ve been in there already this year, you know what I mean.

I’m referring to the individual TVs on each of the elliptical, treadmills and aerobic machines. I was shocked. And it’s not like these ten inch TVs are lacking. They have cable. I got up to the 40s as I did my half an hour and after that I gave up.

I’m all about amenities and I love little techie things. At the same time, I think this is excessive. I mean, do we really need individual TVs? This issue is more than just TVs though; it goes further. In doing research for another story, I found out that the new Heritage Quarters apartments downtown have granite countertops. Really? What college student needs granite counters?

I thought that the individual TVs seemed unusual, but when I searched this on the Internet, I found out that the University of New Orleans and the University of Colorado at Boulder both have similar machines.

Right or wrong, the TVs are here to stay. And all that to say….the TV made my workout go faster. And I like not having to watch Fox news because the pillars block every other TV.

Laura Remson

Staff writer

2 Responses

  1. Well, isn’t that super special. As a recent alumna, I must confess that I’ve always been amazed at Baylor’s priorities. If they have money to waste on such things, they should give it back to the students by way of providing more funding to clubs, increasing the police staff, etc. Other USEFUL things.

  2. It is important to take care to look after your hearing, I actually like taking care hearing and whilst I do agree with the higher up poster and I really hope I do not get shot down for stating this, but I believe it is important to take all things in moderation.

Leave a Reply

