A peculiar sighting

It was a typical September Tuesday, except that I skipped my 9:30 a.m. class to go to an appointment across town.

After taking University Parks to Interstate 35 en route to the appointment, I turned on my iPod and began shuffling through hours of music in an attempt to brighten my mood – which was as dreary as the weather that morning. Granted, operating an iPod while driving is not the safest endeavor, but I must admit, my need for audio stimulation often takes precedence to safety.

After finally choosing a song, I switched lanes on the highway and looked up, noting a darkly-robed figure looming ahead, atop the Eighth Street bridge. I blinked a few times to make sure the haze wasn’t playing tricks with my vision, but as I neared, I couldn’t believe what I saw.

A figure dressed in black garments with a black cloth covering its face was standing on top of the bridge, holding some kind of stick and making gyrating movements as it faced southbound I-35 traffic. I stared so intently that I probably posed more of a safety hazard then, than with the aforementioned disc jockey session.

After talking to a few friends and Lariat staff members, I found that I wasn’t the only one to spot the ninja-like apparition.

I live for oddities such as this. But I’m also a curious person who needs an explanation for a ninja hanging out on I-35.

Liz Foreman

Editor in chief

Leave a Reply

