oh my gosh.

So I was sitting in class today when the topic of everyone’s future came up. My professor started talking about how each one of us would be in a completely different place in 10 years. That’s an obvious statement. It’s what happened next that blew my mind. My professor proceeded to tell us that most likely we would all be married with children by the time we’re in our 30’s, to which three girls in my class replied, “OH my gosh, I would HOPE so. If I’m not married by the time I’m 30 I don’t know WHAT I’m going to do!” Really?

I can’t seem to understand why everyone assumes that marriage is something you have to do. It’s like the majority of girls I talk to think that if they don’t get married it’s the end of the world. I feel like a lot of girls decide things in the wrong order. Shouldn’t you find someone you actually want to spend the rest of your life with and then think about marriage? Not think about marriage and then find someone to fit that frame.

I’m not against marriage at all, I’m very for it. However, I don’t think it should be something that is looked down upon if it doesn’t happen. A lot of people really want a specific job when they get out of college, but if they don’t get that specific job I’m pretty sure, in the words of The Beatles, “life goes on.” The same goes for marriage.

I hate that so many girls find their value in the fact that they do or don’t have a boyfriend or that they will or won’t find someone to marry. That shouldn’t have any relevance to your self value. So in order to avoid this turning into a self-help, self-esteem boosting speech, I will leave it at that.

I hope to get married as much as the next girl, but trust me when I say my life will be just as great if that doesn’t happen. Maybe there are bigger things in the future for me than finding someone to marry or maybe getting married is in the cards, but I think it’s something you really have to just let happen. Do what you want and fulfill your dreams and what is meant to happen will happen.

Megan Duron

Copy Desk Editor

One Response

  1. I agree with the above post. Personally I cannot understand why you would not want to make an effort in this regard anyway. Only the other day, at work we had exactly the same conversation and came to a similar closing

Leave a Reply

