Texas Weather

(Note – this was written last week, when the weather was awful and it was raining every day. I was putting my finishing touches to it over the weekend. Now, it’s sunny and fantastic)

The weather’s got me down.

There’s something about this weather that makes it impossible to work. It’s not even just homework, it’s everything. Even as I sit and write this, there are about a hundred other things I need to do, the most important of which is to get my car inspection done before my mom comes into town for Homecoming.

But it’s like I can’t bring myself to do it. I can’t grab enough energy out of the grey sky, constant rain and chilly wind to convince my body to do what needs to get done.

In the morning I wake up and groan every time I hear the pitter-patter of rain on my window. The other morning I heard it at six thirty because my window was open. Luckily for me, the windowsill was dry. Although knowing my cat, she probably sat there in the rain, soaking up any water that managed to make its way into my room.

I just finished reading the last Harry Potter during my off time and I can’t help but think of the Dementors. Maybe they are causing the fog, rain and my overall poor attitude. Or maybe the infamous Texas drought decided to pull a “just kidding” on all of us, mistakenly thinking it was April Fools Day. Either way, this is unacceptable.

I can’t even function, and yet it seems like I am infinitely busier with each day. This is some sick, cruel joke being played on me. If the bottoms of my pants get wet, it’s all over. If it’s anywhere below 75 degrees, there’s not a chance I’m going to be any use to anyone. It’s almost like a coma, induced by the rain.

On top of everything else, the rain seems to have knocked out communications, phone and Internet, for all the people I need to get in contact with. It’s like this batch of rain is special, corrosive and targets any wires, phone towers and the gate into the parking lot at my apartment.

Rain – I thought we had something special, but I don’t think it’s going to work out. I’m leaving you – for sunny skies and brighter days.

By Laura Remson, Staff Writer

Leave a Reply

