Monday Morning Grace: Rush Season

“Above all, you must live as citizens of heaven, conducting yourselves in a manner worthy of the Good News about Christ.”
-Philippians 1:27

As a new transfer student at Baylor, I have noticed that Greek life is ever-present during what I was informed is called “rush season”.
Throughout the fall semester, Greek girls wear shirts displaying their sorority letters to, in a way, advertise who they are and what they are a part of. Freshman girls can then observe these Greek girls over the duration of rush season to see if anyone could be their “sister”.

One ZTA sister pointed out that wearing your letters so often can be difficult to do because everyone knows what sorority you’re affiliated with – so you have to be mindful of your behavior.

A Delta Delta Delta sister agreed as she made clear the fact that Greek girls are representing their sorority wherever they go when they’re wearing their shirt.
What a great responsibility and call to utmost honesty, continued transparency, and personal integrity.
As I was being tutored about the culture of Baylor University at a dinner table full of Greek girls, I could not ignore the undeniable parallels between their story and God’s story.

Right from the start, when I heard classmates talk about rush season, all I could think of was in Luke 10:2 when Jesus sends out His disciples:
“These were His instructions to them: ‘The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask Him to send more workers into His fields.'”

I think that it is incredible that Greek life at Baylor gives freshmen time to get a feel for what different sororities and fraternities are like before they decide to pursue a specific one.

Freshmen are eager to be a part of something great – like Greek life – so I am delighted to see upperclassmen reaching out to recruit underclassmen to join their chapter.
But here’s the thing: whether we are walking to class on a college campus, catching the metro in DC, or feeding the poor in the slums of South Africa, we are surrounded by people who are hungry.

Yes, even at Baylor there are plenty of people we cross paths with each day who are yearning to be a part of something great – something bigger than themselves – and that something is Jesus Christ.

So while it is wonderful to be on the lookout for those who potentially will be a part of your sisterhood, brotherhood (or organization for that matter) come Spring of 2011, is it not even more urgent that we keep our eyes open to welcome those who potentially could be adopted into God’s family today?

“Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness, and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon. The Lord will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry and restoring your strength.”
-Isaiah 58:10-11

By wearing their sorority shirts, Baylor girls are representing their Greek chapter.

While some of us have Christian t-shirts and some of us don’t, each and every one of us who has chosen to follow Christ through faith has been made in God’s image to represent Christ.

This means we don’t need to have a material object to display our faith – whether it’s a t-shirt, a cross necklace, or an old-school WWJD bracelet (though I have nothing against any of these objects, as I can say that each one has been a part of my wardrobe at some point in time and they can certainly be great witnessing tools).

However, we don’t need these items because when God called us His son or daughter, He sent His Holy Spirit to indwell us so that we might reflect Christ in everything we do from the overflow of His mighty love in us.

“So we are Christ’s ambassadors; God is making His appeal through us. We speak for Christ when we plead, ‘Come back to God!'” -2 Corinthians 5:20

Last week my intro to mass comm professor pointed out that a Chi-O jersey a few girls in class were sporting looked uncomfortable and out of fashion.
However, despite the lack of a “cool factor”, the two girls continued to stand firm with confidence in the Greek letters that they chose to bear. They not only defended their sorority, but they were pleased to display their letters, knowing what an honor it is to be a part of their chapter.

The Holy Spirit can be uncomfortable. Jesus lived 2,000 years ago – of course He can be out of fashion.
However, despite the lack of what others deem to be a “cool factor”, children of God may stand firm with faith and confidence in who they are, Whose they are, and Who they are representing.

Can you imagine what it would be like if there was a common identifying factor amongst the body of believers that could be seen by everyone?
Scripture points out that the Lord has written His Word on our hearts – that He has, in essence, branded our souls.

“I will put My instructions deep within them, and I will write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be My people.”
-Jeremiah 31:33

“I take joy in doing Your will, my God, for Your instructions are written on my heart.”
-Psalm 40:8

So instead of being concerned with the designer who makes our clothes and the organization we’re in, should we not be most concerned with the Designer who made us in His image and the Kingdom we’re a part of?

“Above all, you must live as citizens of heaven, conducting yourselves in a manner worthy of the Good News about Christ.”-Philippians 1:27

This is my prayer for myself and for those of you who decided to read this today. Be encouraged by the truth God has to show you in this moment and throughout the day – let His Word stir in your heart as you read this prayer and pray one of your own:

“Father, I pray that you will show me how to humble myself with each morning so that I might make Your name famous in all that I do. Please consume my thoughts today and always so that I cannot help but share Your gracious love and merciful truth with everyone around me. May I be constantly mindful of Your Spirit in me, and may I follow You in faith as You guide me in Your glorious plan. Thank You for not only listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

– Meghan

3 Responses

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh megan this is awesome!!! im so excited to read more!

  2. Thank you Jeff! I appreciate the fact that you read it & I pray that the Lord showed you something through reading it!

  3. Wonderful parallel, Meghan, on how we display other aspects of our lives and how we display our Christianity. Truly, we need to be as transparent and also as fanatical about our relationships with Jesus Christ as we are about our affiliations and other loyalties. I would hope we would be MORE excited about Christ than we are about our “letters.”

    Always a pleasure to read your work too. You are a great writer, and you use that talent for His glory. The Lariat editors were wise to give you this assignment, and I look forward to being challenged every Monday.

Leave a Reply

