Monday Morning Grace: Fix My Eyes

Yesterday my best friend and accountability partner from Texas A&M University, Whitney, asked me to pray for a dear friend of hers. I had been praying over what the Lord desired for me to write for this week’s devotional and had some ideas, but wasn’t solid on anything just yet. As soon as I began to pray for Whitney’s friend, I knew that my prayers were not just for one girl in Aggieland, but for each of you whom God compelled to read this.

Whitney’s friend has been struggling with something that I feel we are all familiar with. Whitney’s heart broke for her friend because of this struggle that each of us has faced, and many of you may be facing this morning.

“Meghan, please be praying for my friend,” Whitney requested. “She is having a really hard time being faithful. She keeps looking more to the judgments of others to define her faith and the way her Christianity looks rather than simply loving the Lord and finding faith in Him – and letting that define the way her Christianity looks, and the example that she sets, and the way that she looks at herself. I know you’re a prayer warrior, so please be praying that the Lord really defines her by Him, and faith in Him and love for Him – rather than looking at other people and their faith, and letting that be her example of what a Christian should look like, and trying to mimic that. Because you can’t mimic their faith whether or not it’s founded in the Lord – it should be your love for Him that sets your example, and your image of God.”

First of all, before we get going this morning, I would like to make note of the awe-inspiring power of prayer. Ever since the Lord introduced Whitney and me to each other in January of 2009 at a freshmen Bible study that took place in her apartment, I have been unable to ignore the prayerful heart that God has given Whitney. She is a girl with such a unique hunger for Truth that I have never seen manifested in anyone else. Now that I am at Baylor and she is at Texas A&M, we are pressed to be able to spend time together. However, our friendship continues to grow as the Lord remains faithful to encourage and challenge us through one another. Whitney has always recognized the undeniable power of sincere prayer before the Lord, and thus, prayer has and always will be one of the building blocks of our friendship.

“You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name and I will do it!” –John 14:13-14

So, in response to Whitney’s thoughtful prayer request, I began to recall what the Lord had previously shown me about her friend’s struggle, and what He is revealing to me even now:

I believe that until we lose sight of others and quit comparing ourselves to them, as we are so keen to do in American society today – we are hindering ourselves from growth. Because when I look at someone like Whitney and think, ‘Wow, look at Whitney – that is what true faith looks like,’ then I am limiting what God wants to do in me, through me, and around me.

There is a reason why Hebrews instructs us to fix our eyes upon Jesus, the Author & Perfecter of our faith. Because when we put on our blinders and no longer rate ourselves and our faith in comparison to those around us, only then are we equipped to grow. That is the moment when the Lord will humble us to do as He desires – and that is to create in us authentic faith.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.” –Hebrews 12:1-2

We are all made in God’s image, but none of us are the same. Despite the number of similarities you may find you share with someone, you are still entirely unique and your life has been planned by God down to the last detail. So why would you want your life of faith to look like someone else’s when God has a life that only you can experience through faith just waiting to burst forth?

“All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ. Even before He made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in His eyes. God decided in advance to adopt us into His own family by bringing us to Himself through Jesus Christ. This is what He wanted to do, and it gave Him great pleasure. So we praise God for the glorious grace He has poured out on us who belong to His dear Son. He is so rich in kindness and grace that He purchased our freedom with the blood of His Son and forgave our sins. He has showered His kindness on us, along with all wisdom and understanding. God has now revealed to us His mysterious plan regarding Christ, a plan to fulfill His own good pleasure. And this is the plan: At the right time He will bring everything together under the authority of Christ – everything in heaven and on earth. Furthermore, because we are united with Christ, we have received an inheritance from God, for He chose us in advance, and He makes everything work out according to His plan.” –Ephesians 1:3-11

There is only one life and one faith that we are to examine and seek to follow – and that is the life and faith of Jesus Christ.

A book by Jana Spicka that I was reading this spring puts it beautifully:

“True humility comes from a reality of self so deep that no grade is necessary. Jesus poured out because He was free to just walk in who He was, instead of constantly measuring and gauging His success.” –Unhindered

Being humbled before the Lord in constant prayer is where we need to be in order to stand firm in our faith and be confident in who God has made us to be.

“Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land. My eyes will be open and my ears attentive to every prayer made in this place. For I have chosen this Temple and set it apart to be holy – a place where my name will be honored forever. I will always watch over it, for it is dear to my heart.” -2 Chronicles 7:14-16

Do you remember what Paul made clear about the new covenant in the first chapter of Ephesians that I referenced earlier? Please take a moment to re-read this passage from 2 Chronicles and replace Ezra’s use of the word ‘it’ for ‘you’. For God’s Word says that our body is a temple of the Holy Spirit – that we, as His children, have been set apart.

Allow the Lord to open your eyes to see who He is and who you are this morning. Be encouraged by trusting in Him and being obedient to become who He wants you to be. Listen as He continues to speak to you today and as you read this prayer and pray one of your own:

“Father, thank You for calling me Your daughter and for the perfect will You have for me. I pray that You will daily remind me to not compare myself to those around me. Please keep me from making idols out of the faith that others portray. Father, I ask that You help me to center all of my attention and affection on You alone. Humble me before You each morning and mold me into the woman that You desire for me to be. May I not keep track of the growth rate of my faith in You, but may I simply dwell on You in constant surrender. Restore to me the joy of my salvation that You have so freely given to me through Your magnificent grace. May You teach me what Paul meant when he said, ‘to live is Christ and to die is gain.’ Thank You for not just listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.” 

Blessings, Meghan.

5 Responses

  1. This search doesn’t end until life is over either. I needed this message just as much as any of your classmates. 🙂

    Hey, you have your own tab on the Lariat page!

  2. Megan, thank you so much for this devotional. Before I read it, I was always comparing myself to others, and searching for ways to become like others– better Christian. But now i know that I shouldn’t do so, cuz by doing so, I’m limiting God’s power and will.

  3. I am delighted to hear how the Lord used the word He laid on my heart to speak to you!!

  4. Meghan, God is using you in a mighty way. I pray for you each day and thank our Father for allowing me to know you, love you and to be uplifted by His words through you.

  5. Thank you for the encouragement and the prayers Beth!!

Leave a Reply

