Monday Morning Grace: Chosen and Called

By Meghan Hendrickson

“I have called you back from the ends of the earth, saying, ‘You are My servant.’ For I have chosen you and will not throw you away. Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with My victorious right hand.” –Isaiah 41:9-10

This week has been the wildest week of faith in my life thus far. There is so much I wish to share with you, but I have prayed over what the Lord desires I write for you this morning.

Take a moment to read that verse from Isaiah again.

God is calling us to a glorious destiny that He has willed for us, but it is scary when He reveals that next step of faith. In Isaiah He promises that He will be our strength, and that we need not fear for He is with us.

What is God calling you to this morning? And what is keeping you from doing it?

For me, God has been calling me to serve Him on mission in South Africa this spring semester as He has provided me an incredible opportunity to use writing for His ministry through missions.

When people ask me where I see myself in five years or what my dream job would be, I always respond, “I can’t even tell you what I would dream, because I feel like it would be limiting what God has in store.”

Well, this opportunity would be one of those dreams, as I had no idea a position like that even existed! But I am just 20 years old, and it is within reach? God’s plans are far greater than we can imagine.

“Do not tremble; do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim My purposes for you long ago? You are My witnesses—is there any other God? No! There is no other Rock—not one!” –Isaiah 44:8

Immediately I thought of all the obstacles that would hinder me from following God to South Africa for six months. School, financial aid, subleasing my apartment, my job, my family, my ministry in Waco, and so much more flooded my mind.

But here’s the thing: if God wants me in South Africa come January, then He will make a way for me to be there. Those challenges are nothing to God, if it is His good, pleasing and perfect will for me.

Several mentors in my life encouraged me to run after this opportunity until God closes a door, and if He does not bring a halt to my pursuit, then I need to go, because it would be disobedient for me not to. They encouraged me to take a step back and look at God’s hand in every detail, how He has continued to guide me as I trust in Him, and that He will forever guide me as I follow His will above my own.

“But you are My witnesses, O Israel!’ says the Lord. ‘You are My servant. You have been chosen to know Me, believe in Me, and understand that I alone am God. There is no other God—there never has been, and there never will be. I, yes I, am the Lord, and there is no other Savior.” –Isaiah 43:10-11

So I am in the middle of a beautiful period of fearing the Lord above all else.

With a close family member discovering that they may have cancer on the exact day that God laid this missions opportunity before me, I naturally would want to be in America to walk with them through the difficult journey ahead. But the Holy Spirit is opening my eyes to see that I cannot put anything before Him – not even my own family.

“In that day He will be your sure foundation, providing a rich store of salvation, wisdom, and knowledge. The fear of the Lord will be your treasure.” –Isaiah 33:6

So as I continue on in this journey of faith, I am holding onto my King – the Lord Almighty. Whether He wants me in the northern or southern hemisphere this spring, it does not matter to me. All that matters is that I take each step in obedience to the Lord.

So many times I feel the need to sacrifice to the Lord – but Jesus has already been sacrificed for me. In 1 Samuel 15 Samuel asks Saul, “What is more pleasing to the Lord: your burnt offerings and sacrifices or your obedience to His voice? Listen! Obedience is better than sacrifice.” My desire is that the Lord will make me obedient to His voice as He so clearly directs my steps each day.

What is God calling you to this morning? And what is keeping you from doing it?

I encourage you to fear the Lord above all else as you seek to know His will for you – and be ready to be asked to walk by faith and not by sight.

“Father, I praise You for Your undeniable care and purpose behind every detail of my life and the lives of others. Thank You for showing me that even when things may seem bad, whether big or small, they are a part of Your good plan. Please continue to remind me of that truth. Thank You for never failing to show me that what You are calling me to may seem like a dream that I am not ready for, but in Your perspective, it is just the next step for which You have fully prepared me. I pray that You will continue to give me a desire to know You and make You known. Humble me and quiet my soul this morning so that I might be able to hear Your voice, and obey. Please give these readers a spirit of faithfulness to follow hard after You, no matter the cost. Thank You for not just listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

One Response

  1. wow. Again, thank you for writing this. There were a lot of things in here I needed to hear. I pray God gives you ears to hear and and strength to follow the path he has laid out for you. I know that behind every struggle is a victory and the greater the struggle the greater the victory when done in Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

