Monday Morning Grace: Believe

Then Jesus said to the disciples, “Have faith in God. I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. But you must really BELIEVE it will happen and have no doubt in your heart. I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you BELIEVE that you’ve received it, it will be yours. But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.”
-Mark 11:22-25

Right now my Christian Scriptures class at Baylor is covering the Gospels. In reading through Mark earlier this week, I could not help but be overwhelmed with both awe and conviction when I reached this section of chapter 11. It seems like since I was reading this on Wednesday, the Lord is continuing to ingrain a deep truth within me about BELIEVING that God is who He says He is, but even more than that – that He is ABLE to do more than anything I can ever ask or imagine.

I worry a lot. Though some may not know it, I stress frequently. Just say the word “stress” and I will tense up as thoughts flood my mind about all that needs to be done, or fixed, in my life that I haven’t done, or fixed, yet.

BUT THIS LIFE ISN’T ABOUT ME. And without God I am NOTHING. Time and time again I find myself trapped in a pitiful state of anxiety purely because of the fact that I have once more tried to fix things on my own.

But there is nothing to fix. God, in His perfect strength is molding me each day. And no matter how much it hurts, His will is good and pleasing and PERFECT. I must have FAITH that He is more than ABLE to carry me through the circumstances of this life.

I found this to be the main idea of Hebrews 11 (note: I am not referencing these verses in the order they appear)

“All these people died STILL BELIEVING what God had promised them. They did not receive what was promised, but they saw it all from a distance and welcomed it. They agreed that they were foreigners and nomads here on earth…
And it is impossible to please God without FAITH. Anyone who wants to come to Him must BELIEVE that God exists and that He rewards those who SINCERELY SEEK Him…
FAITH is the CONFIDENCE that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see…
He thought it was better to suffer for the sake of Christ than to own the treasures of Egypt, for he was looking ahead to his great reward. It was BY FAITH that Moses left the land of Egypt, not fearing the king’s anger. He kept right on going because he kept his eyes on the One who is invisible.”
-Hebrews 11

Numerous times throughout each of the Gospels Jesus tells those He has healed to “Go in peace. Your FAITH has made you well.” Jesus is offering us a life of PEACE as we sincerely seek Him in confident FAITH! Are you ready to not just believe in God this morning, but truly BELIEVE GOD?

“You are BLESSED because you BELIEVED that the Lord would do what He said.” -Luke 1:45

“Father I love that You are Lord of all creation, Lord of my life, and Lord over every detail. Thank You for continuing to teach me to have unwavering faith in You. Your strength is greater than the deepest pit. Your love goes further than the greatest hurt. Surely, as You care for the birds of the earth, You must care for me, Your daughter. Remind me, as You spoke through Your prophet Isaiah, that unless my faith is firm, You cannot make me stand firm. Father, I am begging You to be my sure foundation. Help me believe that anything is possible in You. Thank You for not only listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

– Meghan

2 Responses

  1. Yep. I too pray the prayer, “I am begging You to be my sure foundation.” it’s a never-ending lesson!

  2. I believe, God listens to my prayers, as he constantly answers them. God NEVER leaves my side, he is always in my home, my heart and soul.
    All those who believe will be rewarded richly with Gods Love.

Leave a Reply

