Monday Morning Grace: Awake

After participating in a national college media convention in Louisville, KY this week, I thought that I was going to elaborate upon an incredible truth the Lord showed me this week as He enabled me to discern the difference between gifts and passions.

This revelation was huge to me as I realized that I have been chasing after the wrong thing, as so many of us do, trying to find my passion in a career – only to discover this: my passion is not writing.

My passion has been, since the moment the Lord saved me at seven years old, for other people to know God – that they would truly desire Him with every breath. God has gifted me in writing, but I wouldn’t be happy if 10 years from now I have a successful career writing, but I’m not allowed to write about God.

My passion is not writing – it’s that other people would know God. God uses my writing to manifest my passion in the lives of people I may never get the chance to meet.

Writing is a gift, not my passion.

So I was ready to share all this and more as I hoped to encourage you to find your passion, and experience how your gifts can partner with that passion to further God’s Kingdom in an incredible way as you surrender to serve the Lord.

But then I came across this Scripture in Ephesians 5 and stopped dead in my tracks as the Holy Spirit compelled me to share it with you all this morning.

I pray that the Spirit speaks to you through God’s Word as He convicts and leads us into a life of worship before the Father. Please take the time to read through each line slowly, as every word runs deep with truth and direction.

“Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are His dear children.
Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered Himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.
Let there be no sexual immorality, impurity, or greed among you.
Such sins have no place among God’s people.
Obscene stories, foolish talk, and coarse jokes – these are not for you.
Instead, let there be thankfulness to God.
You can be sure that no immoral, impure, or greedy person will inherit the Kingdom of Christ and of God.
For a greedy person is an idolater, worshiping the things of this world.
Don’t be fooled by those who try to excuse these sins, for the anger of God will fall on all who disobey Him.
Don’t participate in the things these people do.
FOR ONCE YOU WERE FULL OF DARKNESS, BUT NOW YOU HAVE LIGHT FROM THE LORD.
SO LIVE AS PEOPLE OF LIGHT!
FOR THIS LIGHT WITHIN YOU PRODUCES ONLY WHAT IS GOOD AND RIGHT AND TRUE.
Carefully determine what pleases the Lord.
Take no part in the worthless deeds of evil and darkness; instead, expose them.
It is shameful even to talk about the things that ungodly people do in secret.
But their evil intentions will be exposed when the light shines on them, for the light makes everything visible.
This is why it is said,
‘Awake O sleeper, rise up from the dead, and Christ will give you light.’
So be careful how you live.
Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise.
Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days.
Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.
Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life.
Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts.
And give thanks to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Paul was not messing around when he wrote this. As children of God, these are the standards God is calling us to. No exceptions.

“Father, I am sorry that I have grown so tolerant of the sin in my life and the lives of my brothers and sisters. We keep making excuses for sin instead of exposing it in the lives of one another. Do we just not care? I pray that You will awake my soul and the souls of Your children to live like children of light. Your Holy Spirit reigns in my heart – it is time I start reflecting You in everything I do. Don’t let the fear of tension keep me from speaking up about the sin that so easily entangles my brothers and sisters. I pray that those in my life will no longer tolerate my sinfulness I can be so blind to as well. I am not guaranteed tomorrow. I don’t want to waste another minute in foolish surrender to evil, but rather, take every breath in faithful surrender to righteousness. May Your light shine bright in the lives of my brothers and sisters, and in my own life, both now and forevermore. Thank You for not only listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

 

– Meghan

2 Responses

  1. Meghan! You are so great! I love your monday morning devotions! Thanks for sharing Ephesians, it was very convicting.. I miss you already!
    Rachel

  2. I relate to this, Meghan. Always thought that writing and editing were my passions, and then I began to teach, and I realized that my passions are to use writing and editing to reach others. God has not opened those doors completely yet, but as I study and show myself approved, I am gaining favor with God and men. I am prioritizing what I ought and preparing for that day when I can align my passion and my gifts.

    You are stepping out into that alignment now, and I glory at God’s favor for you as you move into this new chapter of life.

    Will be praying and watching! Love to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

