Monday Morning Grace: Promise

This weekend I was able to witness my dear friend Vanessa enter into a covenant of marriage with her beloved, Travis, at a lovely ceremony in downtown Austin. As my mom and I filled out a guestbook card for their custom guestbook, one of the questions asked, “What do you hope we remember most about today?”

I said, “The promise. When hard times come your way, always remember the promise you made to each other before the Lord today.”

Seeing Travis and Vanessa exchange their vows under the trees with the sun peaking through to bring us warmth, all I could think about was the promise of salvation that was made to me and the vow I made to follow my Lord and Savior 14 years ago.

The words I had written to the newlyweds just moments before rang loud in my soul. Why do I so often lose sight of the promises that Jesus made?

When trials come, I must remember the promise that He made, and the promise I made to Him.

The Lord makes several promises to His children in Scripture:
He promises that He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life and that no one can come to the Father except through Him.
He promises that He will throw out our transgressions as far as the east is from the west.
He promises that He will never leave us nor forsake us.
He promises that all things work together for the good of those who love Him.
He promises that each day He carries us through.
He promises that His Word is truth.
He promises that when we call out to Him, He will answer.
He promises that surely, He is with us always, even to the end of the age.
He promises that in Him we may have life and have it to the full.
He promises that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.
He promises that we will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon us.

The Lord’s promises are endless. Just as His love makes me incapable of finishing this sentence because it is so far deeper than my mind can reach.

With all the promises that God makes to us, there is only one we can make to Him: “I promise to love, honor and cherish You for all of the days.”

Friends, I ask that you remember the promise of our Redeemer. And I challenge you to share that promise with just one person this week.

Friday I had the chance to take my friend, Yu Ting from China, to the mall to get her very first suit for the Baylor business school. On our way I was able to talk to her about my leaving to serve on mission in South Africa for six months this spring.

Throughout our time together, the Lord continued to provide opportunities to share the Gospel with my friend who is so blind beneath the veil – but I didn’t. I didn’t tell her about the only promise that can never be broken.

I know that she appreciated my kindness and hospitality, but when this dark world turns to grey, my kindness and hospitality will get her nowhere.

I was so adamant that she find a great deal on a suit she loved, yet I found myself behaving as though I was completely unconcerned that she find the promise of everlasting life from the One who is Love.

I believe so many of us get lost in the fog of good deeds that we forget about the Good News.

Pray with me as the Lord uses me to reach out to Yu Ting this week and the rest of the semester. I am praying for you as you think about who you need to talk to for the sake of the Holy Name of Jesus.

Remember the promise.

As I watched Travis and Vanessa journey forth in love as they were joined together in holy matrimony, all I could think of was the love that their marriage represented that morning – Christ’s love for the church.

It’s the greatest love story ever told… So let’s get out there and truly love one another by sharing it!

“Father, may I not retreat in fear when You open the door for me to share Your story with those who are desperate to call You Abba. Help me to remember the promise, and grant me a heart that is ready and willing to surrender in obedience to Your leading. Thank You for not only listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

 

-Meghan

Leave a Reply

