Monday Morning Grace: Child of God

I had the blessing of spending this past weekend at home with family, including my cousin’s six month old twins, Reid and Ava Lyn. It was incredible to see the love that was displayed for those babies throughout the weekend from every member of the family as they got passed from relative to relative to be cradled and cuddled.

Just before lunchtime on Sunday my cousin’s husband was washing his babies’ bottles before they hit the road to travel home, while I was holding Reid nearby in the kitchen. With this tiny child on my lap, I couldn’t help but notice how he was eyeing his father washing the dishes. Reid never took those big blue eyes off of him. Even more, when his dad would look in his direction, Reid would burst in delight as he smiled and softly cried out in desire to be carried by his daddy.

Driving back to Waco Sunday night, I couldn’t get the image out of my mind. What a beautiful picture of our relationship with God I saw in Reid’s relationship with his father.

In one of the earlier devotions the Lord led me to talk about the importance of fixing our eyes upon Him in every moment, so I won’t dedicate this week’s devotion to the same topic. But this I know: I want to be like Reid when it comes to my heavenly Father – I never want to take my eyes off of Him. I’m not there yet, but I pray that the Lord will enable me to remember to seek after His help each day as I desire to eye my Father as He washes away my sin and looks in my direction to see His Son, interceding for me.

The truly captivating aspect of Reid’s demeanor was the fact that despite his attempts to sit up on his own, or be held by several loving relatives – he desired, more than anything, to be carried by his dad. Too many times I find myself trying to hold up my head on my own as I carry myself, or finding someone loving in my life to help me carry the weight, or hiding away in something that can distract me from the burdens I tote around. Each instance I find myself humbled before the Lord, sometimes in tears, as He convicts me once again to let Him carry me through – but even more, to desire that He carry me.

“Praise the Lord; praise God our Savior! For each day He carries us in His arms.” –Psalm 68:19

God promises that He will pick us up and carry us through whatever storms or sunshine this life brings. He says in His Word that we are adopted as children of God.

This weekend my aunt pointed out how many kids there are in the world that do not get to experience the love that Reid and Ava Lyn are permeated with each day. We talked about the orphans in America and across the globe that are in need of love from someone willing and able to adopt them.

Before we came to know Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior, we did not know love – for Christ is love. We were orphans, born into sin. But God, in His mercy, was willing and able to adopt us as His very own children, through His one and only Son, Jesus – so that we might be called “children of God.”

I am a child of God. You are a child of God, if you have given your life to Him. We are children of God. So why do we not delight in that

identity? Why do we not find joy in our salvation?

God is our Father, but more than that, He is to be our Everything. Cry out to your heavenly Father this morning – desire to be held tight in the arms of our Lord as He carries you through now and forevermore.

This week, read and pray through these lyrics that Kutless wrote unto our Most High Father in their song, Everything I Need:

When every step is so hard to take and all of my hope is fading away, when life is a mountain that I cannot climb – You carry me. Jesus, carry me.

You are strength in my weakness and You are the refuge I seek. You are everything in my time of need. You are everything, You are everything I need.

When every moment is more than I can take and all of my strength is slipping away, when every breath gets harder to breathe – You carry me. Jesus, carry me.

You are strength in my weakness and You are the refuge I seek. You are everything in my time of need. You are everything.

You are everything – I need You! You are everything I need! I love everything about You.

You are strength in my weakness. You are the refuge I seek. You are everything in my time of need. You are everything, You are everything!

You are strength in my weakness and You are the refuge I seek! You are everything in my time of need! You are everything, You are everything I need. You are everything, You are everything I need!

“Father, help me to listen. Your Word commands that I pray continually, I ask that you help me to do that. But even more, I ask that I would delight in being called Your daughter, and that I would daily see my need for You – and that You truly would be my everything in every moment of every day. Thank You for not just listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

– Meghan

Leave a Reply

