Monday Morning Grace: Eikon

“So God created human beings in His own image. In the image of God He created them; male and female He created them.” -Genesis 1:27

I just finished leading a Disciple Now weekend with the teenagers of my home church, First Baptist McKinney. The Lord was good to bless us with enough volunteers, leaders, and an incredible youth staff to be able to serve 492 students this year! Our theme verse for this year’s retreat was Genesis 1:27.

Not only did God create us, but He made us in His image! And not only did He make us in His image, but He made us with a specific intent and purpose! And not only did He make us with a purpose, but He blessed us with talents and spiritual gifts! And not only did He grant us unique spiritual gifts at the moment we chose to follow the Lord, but He gave us passions in which to use those gifts! And not only did He give us passion, but He gave us a story that we can share in love with those the Lord places in our lives each day!

As we near Thanksgiving, I feel it is extra-fitting to count our many blessings before the Lord, and those were just a few! Imagine what just writing down all of the ways God has blessed you in thanksgiving would do – not things you think you deserve or have earned, because we deserve nothing, but in Christ we find EVERYTHING.

“Eikon” is a Greek word that means likeness or image. So this weekend teenagers learned all about how we were made in the image of God and are to be made into the likeness of His Son, Jesus Christ, with each day.

“For God knew His people in advance, and He chose them to become like His Son, so that His Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.” -Romans 8:29

My challenge to my sophomore girls and guys this weekend is the same challenge I bring to you this morning:

Each of my teens hit a crossroads this weekend where they needed to decide whether they are going to chase after the things of the world – continuing to act as slaves to sin, or if they will pursue the Lord and HIS righteousness – desiring that Christ would daily be formed in them.

Here’s the thing: you can’t do both. For some that means salvation, but for others that means coming to a greater realization about what our salvation means.

When the Lord saved me at seven years old, my life was no longer my own as I gave it entirely over to Him. When my Heavenly Father saved me 14 years ago, I said YES. I said yes to whatever He asks of me, wherever He leads me, whenever He calls me, however much it costs – I said YES.

So it doesn’t matter if I get fearful about leaving my family for six months to go to South Africa, because I said YES. It’s not about me, and it’s all about HIM.

I desire to be daily transformed into the likeness of Christ not for my sake, but for His Namesake.

So many times we fall into the trap of believing that the freedom that is found in God’s grace is just an excuse for us to continue to live as if we were in chains – but we have been set FREE in Christ! We have been set free to follow the Lord in obedience, which leads to righteousness.

Think of it this way, look back to the days of slavery in the states, and the abolition of slavery due to the Emancipation Proclamation. Imagine that a slave, who had been set free, was still out picking cotton for his former master. That’s wild! I would run and say to him, “You have been set free! Let go of everything and live in the freedom that you have been given!”

I say the same thing to you this morning: You have been set free from the power of sin! Let go of everything, all of the burdens that you carry, and live in the freedom that you have been given through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ!

Jesus took our sins upon Himself when He faced excruciating pain as He was nailed to the cross, so that we don’t have to suffer the pain and shame of our sins today. The only one holding you down in a place of defeat this morning is yourself – because the Lord set you free 2.000 years ago and desires that you lay everything at the foot of His cross so that you will be free to be molded into His EIKON more and more each day!

“Father, I pray that You will continue to daily remind me that this life is not about me. Convict me once more that the salvation You give is free, but it’s not cheap. May You continue to stir in the hearts of the over 800 people involved in this Disciple Now weekend, and in those reading this devotion, and in me. May we desire to truly live as we embrace the Eikon of Christ You created us to be! Thank You for not only listening to my prayers, but answering them. I love You Father, thank You for loving me.”

One Response

  1. Even as we struggling through life, we can hand all over to Him. I am quick to hand Him the uglies and need to be as faithful to hand over the beauty too. But He is faithful and patient to teach me to consistently depend on Him.

    May you consistently depend on Him in the next 6 months! Know His goodness. Cling to Him in the excitement and the loneliness, the newness and the homesickness. Know that He is your mainstay through it all. You know that; I’m just reminding you. Will be lifting you up as you pursue His will in SA.

Leave a Reply

